Caulfield Guineas Prelude

The 2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude is a quality Group 3 thoroughbred race conducted at Caulfield Racecourse as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Run on Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Day in mid September, the Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude is held over 1400m and is open to three-year-old colts and geldings.

Raced under set weight plus penalty conditions, the Caulfield Guineas offers stakes of $175,000 and is the traditional lead-up race for runners heading towards the time-honoured $1 million Caulfield Guineas (1600m) the following month at the same track.

Earlier in the year three-year-old males may have previously contested other similar races such as the Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes (1200m) in August or the Group 2 Danehill Stakes (1200m) at Flemington.

When enjoying a bet online on the Caulfield Guineas Prelude, looking back at the top performers in these earlier three-year-old races can give punters a good guide for their selections.

Race Information:

  • When: September
  • Where: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne
  • Distance: 1,400m
  • Race Status: Group Three
  • Race Conditions: 3YO Colts & Geldings – Set Weights + Penalties
  • Prize Money: $175,000
  • First Run: 1985

2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Field

Released on Wednesday, September 24th, the 2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude field is sure to contain some top colts and geldings. The 2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude field will be provided below.

2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Nominations

The 2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude nominations will be released on Tuesday 22 September. There will be a number of outstanding horses included in the 2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude nominations. The 2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude nominations will be published below.

Below is a list of the most recent winners of the Caulfield Guineas Prelude. Some of the star gallopers who have claimed victory in the Caulfield Guineas Prelude include Demerit (2009), Apache Cat (2005) and Elvstroem (2003).

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Winners

Year Winner Time
2015 TBD TBD
2014 Rich Enuff 1:23.5
2013 Eclair Big Bang 1:23.4
2012 Epaulette 1:24.3
2011 Helmet 1:21.4
2010 Anacheeva 1:23.2
2009 Demerit 1:24.7
2008 Fernandina 1:25.4
2007 Purrealist 1:24.2
2006 Wonderful World 1:24.6
2005 Apache Cat 1:27.0
2004 Tirade 1:24.7
2003 Elvstroem 1:22.3
2002 Great Glen 1:23.2
2001 Pure Theatre 1:24.2
2000 Fubu 1:22.4